All’s “Fair” in love and Funnel Cake

Well it’s that time again, the state fair is in town.

 2013-02-10_15-02-24_62

There is something to delight everyone. Rides, exhibits, animals, cheer and dance competitions, you name it.

2013-02-10_11-25-01_20                             2013-02-10_11-30-01_905

This is also the time to indulge in among other things Corn Dogs, fried cheese, cotton candy and my favorite funnel cakes. There is always the promise of various dep fried oddities like butter, Oreos, cereal, candy bars and everything on a stick that you can imagine. This year I decided to take the plunge and try the fried Oreos. I love Oreos so I felt it had to be good. I got 5 in on order and it was drenched with powdered sugar.

2013-02-10_11-49-34_375

I took a bite……

IMG951115

and did not like it 😦

It was too much dough and not enough Oreo’s.

2013-02-10_11-51-51_762

I think it would have been better with a double stuf Oreo because everyone knows the cream is the best part 🙂

I think from now on I will stick with my old favorite.

foto-Funnel_cake

If you want a funnel cake fix and don’t want to fight the crowds at the fair, here is a recipe I found online. I will be trying this one of these days.

Funnel Cake

Servings: 6-8 (depending on the size of the cakes) Prep Time: 10 min Cook Time: 10 min Difficulty: Easy

Ingredients

1 tablespoon sugar 1 teaspoon baking soda 1 teaspoon salt 2 cup all-purpose flour 1 teaspoon vanilla 1   egg, beaten 2 cup milk 1/2   (4 tablespoons) melted butter Powdered sugar, for topping

Directions

Combine milk, egg, and vanilla in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, combine flour, salt, baking soda, and sugar and gradually add to wet ingredients. Beat with a mixer until a smooth batter forms. Fold in melted butter. Pour batter into a funnel or squeeze bottle while using your index finger to stop the flow of the batter. Bring the funnel over the hot oil and release your finger to start a stream of batter while moving the funnel in a circular motion to create spiral-like shapes. Fry for 2 to 3 minutes until golden brown and slightly puffed. Sprinkle with powdered sugar.

2 thoughts on “All’s “Fair” in love and Funnel Cake

  1. Pingback: Sugar High | Raising a baby and eating healthy on a budget.

Leave a comment